Orlando Furioso

03/15/2009 § 1 Comment

In an attempt to have a type of overarching narrative to this blog, (if that’s at all possible), I’m going to reread Orlando Furioso by Ludovico Ariosto and report on short sections of it at a time…just junk I find funny or really interesting parts. I’ve found that people like interesting things. I have two different translations of this work so perhaps at times I’ll compare the two. The main text I’ll be using is the Penguin Classics with a translation by Barbara Reynolds.

I read this long epic poem a few years ago and absolutely loved it. Since finishing, the images of Rinaldo and Orlando and myriad other knights of the Crusades all falling in love with Angelica has sort of been bouncing around in my head. This has made for awkward moments at parties when I assume others have the same images in their heads and I reference Rinaldos beard hairs or Orlando riding his horse to death and cracking up while everyone looks down and sips their beer or wine. Bogus.

The level of ridiculousness this tale takes on is laugh out loud funny. At least that is how it was for me the first time. It’s pretty funny….Knights abandoning the crusades and doing all sorts of random junk in pursuit of Angelica hit my funny bone hard, and old funny bone has been laughing ever since.

I probably don’t have anything new or exciting to say about this work so I imagine the posts will be a type of list/love letter to romantic/epic stories in general. Maybe I’ll just summarize each canto with a few whimsical sentences. I don’t really know yet. I just wanted to warn you folks. This is what’s happening now.

But, I’m still going to post about whatever I’m reading, or just random things I want to post about. I’ll probably post regular posts more than the Orlando project. Depends how busy I am, and my reading schedule and all that. It will definitely be at my leisure. Maybe take years. Who knows?

Orlando Furioso is one of those works that I don’t think I ever came across when I was in college. I should have come across it, being an English major at a reasonable university, and like the Tain and innumerable other incredible and more intersting works in the realm of literature, I think students in the Humanities are worse off not having  read these works. More time was spent with stupid Spenser and Milton. Bravo jerks. Bravo.

§ One Response to Orlando Furioso

  • Jeni says:

    “This has made for awkward moments at parties when I assume others have the same images in their heads and I reference Rinaldos beard hairs or Orlando riding his horse to death and cracking up while everyone looks down and sips their beer or wine. Bogus.” –Been there, more often that one probably should be there… nice site.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Orlando Furioso at Tall tales. Fairy tales. Cock-and-Bull stories. Epics. Fables. Folk tales. Myths. Legends..

meta

